Open Meadow

A path stretches before me,
into the distance, across an open meadow,
no tree, nor mountain to mark my destination.
Above, the sky stretches blue in every direction,
clouds rise up like a staircase.
I see shapes in the clouds,
my mind works to create meaning.
The chaos of life, refined and defined
by the parameters of my imagination.
I lie down to gaze up at the endless blue,
my senses tuned to the frequency of discovery.
Counting cloud sheep until I fall asleep and dream,
of endless landscapes to explore.
One step, one word at a time.

~Minkee

this poem is the result of a freefall writing/photo prompt. It has been edited and revised into its current form. To read the original, check out the right side bar to access the ‘Free Fall Friday Fragments’ blog where I submit the raw material.

Leave a Reply

