Jeans

For those of you who don’t know; I attend a free fall writing group on Friday mornings at the Alexandra Writing Center here in Calgary, and sometimes the work produced there makes it onto the FreeFallFriday’s blog. These are my offerings from March 21; reposted here for your reading enjoyment.

Free Fall Friday Fragments

Jeans, jeans, jeans, what do I know about Jeans? I know that my parents could never afford to buy them for me when I was young, and even though I was the oldest child in my family, and the only girl, I somehow always ended up with a lot of hand-me-down pants of the ‘awkward immigrant kind.’

You know the ones —  pants that were made of wool, or polyester, or double-knit polyester, with elastic waistbands and a seam sewn down the front. Usually these were passed down to me by older girls in my parents social circle that consisted mainly of other Dutch Canadians. Landed immigrants all of us, and not a single fashion maven in the bunch.

When I was finally able to earn my own money, babysitting for friends and neighbours at rock-bottom rates, I did not make enough to afford designer jeans, not even close, so I bought the…

View original post 268 more words

Leave a Reply

